Studio C is an occasional Podcast of wide-ranging subject matter. Here on our Weblog you'll find the latest news, shownotes and links.

Visit NOEBIE.COM               Podcast RSS/XML Feed
Subscribe at iTunes             For The Zune
Email The Show                  Voicemail Line: (312) 235-2139

Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Net Neutrality Fails in Senate Committee

The Net Neutrality Amendment failed in the Senate Commerce Committee by a tie vote of 11-11, with all ten Democratic committee members voting in favor, along with Senator Snowe (a Republican) who introduced the amendment. The eleven remaining Republican members voted against it.

It is unlikely now that the final bill will pass in the full Senate, in my opinion. If that is the case it would effectively kill the telecommunications reform legislation for this session of Congress.

Here is a list of the 11 Senators who voted against Net Neutrality.

Chairman Ted Stevens (AK): (202) 224-3004; Fax: (202) 224-2354
John McCain (AZ): (202) 224-2235; Fax: (202) 228-2862
Conrad Burns (MT): 202-224-2644; Fax: 202-224-8594
Trent Lott (MS): (202) 224-6253; Fax: (202) 224-2262
Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX): 202-224-5922; Fax: 202-224-0776
Gordon H. Smith (OR): 202.224.3753; Fax: 202.228.3997
John Ensign (NV): (202) 224-6244; Fax: (202) 228-2193
George Allen (VA): (202) 224-4024; Fax: (202) 224-5432
John E. Sununu (NH): (202) 224-2841; FAX (202) 228-4131
Jim DeMint (SC): 202-224-6121; Fax: 202-228-5143
David Vitter (LA): (202) 224-4623; Fax: (202) 228-5061


Post a Comment

<< Home

Site Meter